Which ones need the greenhouse?
Proserpina Offline
South Yorkshire
I have no greenhouse experience, but am aware that some tomato varieties will be much happier/more likely to ripen in a greenhouse than outside. I have ended up with seeds from more than 20 varieties of tomato (mostly sent by you guys!) There's no way that I can grow them all this year, but I'd like to give quite a few a go so need to start planning now.

To help me, I wonder if anyone can tell me which of these would really only be worth growing in a greenhouse? I've left out the ones I know are micro-dwarfs as I know they will do fine in a sunny window.

Alicante
Atomic grape
Blush
Buffalo Horn
Cherry Tomato Mix
EM Champion
Gaillardia
Galina
Golden Grape 
Mat-Su Express
Malachite Box
Maskotka
Matt's Hornett
Northern Lights
Orange banana
Orange jazz
Oregon Spring 
Red Veranda 
Tigerella - this is very old seed so getting sown this year no matter what.

The reason I ask is that I want to get the tomatoes that will end up in the greenhouse into the propagator today, but I have a huge amount of work stuff on and don't have the time to research each tomato variety right now. Hoping the hive mind can help me out!
Formerly self-contained, but expanding my gardening horizons beyond pots!
[-] The following 2 users Like Proserpina's post:
  • Can the Man, Veggie

Scarlet Offline
Super Pest Controller
I think it's very early to sow tomatoes even if they go out to the greenhouse they will need warmth to grow - I would hang fire a month.
[-] The following 5 users Like Scarlet's post:
  • Can the Man, Farendwoman, JJB, Proserpina, Veggie

Veggie Online
Super Pest Controller
I don't grow any tomatoes outdoors because of blight. There are some blight-resistant toms (they say) but they're not on your list.
There's plenty of time to sow tomatoes so don't rush.

PS Gaillardia is a flower.
The Moneyless Chicken says:- 
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.
[-] The following 2 users Like Veggie's post: