Garden And Gossip Forums
Non stop begonias - Printable Version

+- Garden And Gossip Forums (https://gardenandgossip.org)
+-- Forum: Flowers and Ornamentals (https://gardenandgossip.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=44)
+--- Forum: All about Flowers and Ornamentals (https://gardenandgossip.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=45)
+--- Thread: Non stop begonias (/showthread.php?tid=1551)

Non stop begonias - JJB - 11-05-2022

I've never tried non stop begonias,  but after Spec mentioned then, I gave them a look.  I fancy their blousey look. Is it too late to get some corms and bring them into life or would it be better to try plug plants?  If plants, do they form corms for next year? Or should I give up for this year?

RE: Non stop begonias - SarrissUK - 11-05-2022

I'm a novice with begonias but I don't think it's too late - they like warmth and once they get that, they take off like mad. So go for it, I say! Smile

RE: Non stop begonias - Garrett - 11-05-2022

I grow begonias and although it's not too late to start off a tuber, you may not get flowers until August. I usually start mine off when the clocks change and some of them are already in flower now, most have buds.

I'd suggest buying them as plants at this time of year, they're often in supermarkets in six packs and usually not expensive.

As for whether they form tubers, most will, however some modern hybrid begonias are seed raised and don't form tubers. You'd have to research the particular variety.

I highly recommend trying them. They don't require a lot of upkeep and they're useful to have in shadier areas as they're so bright and colourful.

RE: Non stop begonias - JJB - 11-05-2022