The none recommendations
Small chilli Offline
Super Pest Controller
This may be a little controversial. My none recommendation is The Vegetable & Herb Expert. Granted it’s not a new book some of it’s content and ideas are very dated. First published in 1998 and updated in 2001 (I have the updated version) My main reason for removing this from the bookshelf is it’s comments about Chillies (I’m very protective of my chillies). Some of which are blatant lies and if I’m not mistaken a touch of racism!!!!!

The other thing is it confused me. After looking through it yesterday trying to find an answer for someone’s tomato problem. Well see what you think. To be far this advice could be 100% correct, it would explain why I’m not very good at growing tomatoes. Get it wet , Don’t get it wet.......... make your mind up!

I’m sure a lot of what in this book is sound information. I was just surprised ( after not reading it for a very long time) at how dated some of it is.
Builder that would like to go play in the garden.
[-] The following 4 users Like Small chilli's post:
  • Can the Man, JJB, PyreneesPlot, Veggie

JJB Offline
Moonraker
I haven't looked at that section for ages, mainly use it for planting distances. How dated! I'm not a chilli buff but even I figure that's a load of tosh!
It's incredible how both gardening books and cookery books lose their credibility and allure after a time.
Gardening is an excuse not to do housework
Greetings from Salisbury
Qualified member of the Confused Nutter's Club 
[-] The following 2 users Like JJB's post:
  • Can the Man, Small chilli

Mark_Riga Offline
Member from Cheshire